Nov7-8 – Summit Point Main – NASA

Brian Hair is my instructor-Alan Herod sent him a message ahead of time for what he should work on with me. (Alan is awesone-super cool that he looks out for me like that!)
This is the following weekend after my great time at Summit Main.

Kyle and I are in the same group- Blue- he has Eric Wong. Seems that the challenge is on even before it starts. We don’t line up together and don’t see each other on the track. We review our data after the first day and realize that we were consistently on the opposite side of the track the entire time (going close to the same speed). This is good news- must mean that I am doing ok if he hasn’t caught up.

This event is much more crowded and I am frustrated by being stuck behind other cars. I know that I should use this time for learning other stuff but still want to maximize my own speed and skills

Day 2- Brian keeps telling more and more that I need to work on my posture-stop invading his space as I am sliding and leaning too much around the turns. I make a conscious note but it is very hard to control this with my maximum speed (ha!). But true!

Kyle gets solo’d…takes off for the last round- waiting for Brian….I’m not going to be happy about this if he doesn’t give me the option, and then…finally!! I get to go solo too! I finish the weekend finally feeling like I accomplished something that I set out for! I am very comfortable on this track-feel great at pushing my car and working the slide around turns (the butt dance as I call it) as necessary and going full throttle(for me) everywhere that I can!

Overall, I liked the nature of the event, but would prefer not to be in a group this crowded again at a different speed.

I am looking forward to next season on Main!

—Kyle speaks
FAVORITE INSTRUCTOR WEEKEND PHRASE: “Enough brake, GO GO GO!

Looked at my pads after the PCA event, thought I was going to have enough pad for this weekend (3 days), but the brake pad wear sensor came on during the last lap of my session on Friday, the rear pads were done. A quick call to OGRacing and I was able to get Brian Hair (Mary’s instructor who works at OGRacing) to bring a set of PFC01’s with him on Saturday morning.

Saturday morning I did my first paddock brake pad swap *beaming proud*. I had previously done a paddock brake system bleed after boiling the brake fluid back when I was running ATE Super Blue, only Castrol SRF now! Guess that makes me a paddock brake expert now. 🙂

Confession: Bruce the lead Tech from RRT (BMW performance shop in Sterling where I get our tech inspections done) was there with his car for the weekend so he instructed me through the pad swap on the first corner then I comfortably flew through the remaining 3 corners.

Sat/Sun with NASA were good, other than a few cars in our HPDE2 group that should have been in HPDE1. I’ll be sending a note to Jon Felton expressing my concern about that. Literally there were 3 cars turning > ~2:00 laps that Mary and I (as well as others) lapped several times/session, really breaks your rhythm & concentration when you have to slow down and follow cars that slow until the next passing zone (I’ll call it an exercise in patience).

Eric & Brian were great instructors, Mary and I both feel we improved our consistency and were able to work on the corners previously identified (mainly 3,9,10).

*Traqmate shows Mary was able to reduce her “coasting before braking” into 3 and 10 *thumbs up*

*Mary was 4Mph quicker through turn 3 than last Sunday (min speeds through 3 increased from 66mph to 70mph)

*Mary’s average speed through segment 3 which included turn 4 was 5mph higher (87mph v/s 92mph).

*Mary was 4Mph quicker through turn 10 than last Sunday (min speed through 10 increased from 69mph to 73mph)

*Mary turned multiple 1:31’s in her last session Sunday and one flying 1:30.3, nearly repeating her best lap from last week of 1:30.2.

*Traqmate shows she needs to continue to work on her braking into 1, instead of threshold braking then easing off the brake as she turns in, appears she is still jabbing the brakes just prior to turn in. It wasn’t an area she mentioned Brian and her discussed or worked on so no surprise this behavior was unchanged.

*I talked to her about the concept of trail-braking, she isn’t consciously trail-braking anywhere, I told her not to worry about it for now. She is probably doing it a little bit w/out realizing. It is hard to tell via the traqmate data (w/out brake pedal position sensor tap) whether she is trail-braking or simply scrubbing off speed early in the turn.

BTW: Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) tap and Brake Position Sensor tap are both on the winter project list. TPS is easy, I haven’t research BPS yet.

*Maybe turn 4 @ VIR would be an appropriate time to introduce conscious thinking about trail-braking, but I’ll leave that up to you as her instructor. 😉


*We both exercised caution entering 4 but were able to enter w/only a lift (ie no brake) prior to entering 4.

*Eric and I worked on Turn 3 quite a bit. He had me move my turn in point back about a car length…now the turn in point I’m using is about a car length prior to where the second entrance way starts, we worked on entry/corner speed. Minimum speeds through Turn 3 increased from an average of 62Mph to 68Mph which resulted in .6sec quicker segment times through there.

*Nailed consistency through turn 8/9 resulting in high level of comfort through that area now. .3 sec quicker through that segment and picked up 5Mph by the time I passed under the bridge (107Mph v/s 102Mph).

*We played with 3rd gear v/s 4th gear through turn 10. Didn’t seem to be able to carry enough speed through 10 to be high enough in revs in 4th gear to power out. Carrying 73Mph through that corner (which is the max either Mary or I have done) puts us about 4500rpm in 4th which is significantly below ideal power band of the M3 (I have RPM tap installed in my car to traqmate so I’m confident of this RPM #). Traqmate ultimately confirmed 3rd gear was best for us now on street tires. Maybe sometime next year on r-comps we can experiment with 4th gear again.

*I turned a best lap Sunday afternoon of 1:30.5, a full second quicker than my previous best.

This week Mary is scheduled to complete her 4 x 20 min sessions on the simulator lapping at VIR, essentially giving her a day worth of track time prior to heading down Friday night. Good enough to memorize the direction and relative speed of all the turns. Same drill we followed before her first time at Summit – Main…ie a great jumpstart!

Leave a Reply

